2022 Ky. football class coaches, players of the year honored

Lexington Christian Academy’s Cutter Boley passed for 3,901 yards and 36 touchdowns in 13 games this season.

Lexington Christian Academy’s Cutter Boley passed for 3,901 yards and 36 touchdowns in 13 games this season.


Lexington Christian Academy sophomore quarterback Cutter Boley has been selected Class 2A player of the year by the Kentucky Football Coaches Association, which announced its coach and player of the year honors for each of the state’s six competitive classes this weekend at the state championships at Kroger Field.

Boley, a much-heralded 6-foot-6 signal-caller who began to draw serious recruiting interest this year from college programs like Alabama, Tennessee, Michigan and Kentucky, helped the Eagles to their third straight district and region championships by throwing for 3,901 yards and 36 touchdowns in 13 games. He missed one game due to injury.

Also honored were three players and two coaches participating in the weekend’s state championship games. Pikeville running back Blake Birchfield and Coach Chris McNamee were selected as Class A’s player and coach of the year. Christian Academy-Louisville quarterback Cole Hodge was named Class 3A player of the year. Bullitt East quarterback Travis Egan was named Class 6A player of the year. Corbin Coach Tom Greer was named Class 4A coach of the year.

The KFCA’s players of the year both at the class and district levels are finalists for its annual Mr. Football award given to the association’s choice for the state’s top senior. That award is expected to be announced later this month. The KFCA Mr. Football is not to be confused with the longer-standing Mr. Football awarded by The Associated Press.

Here is the complete list of KFCA coaches and players of the year:

KFCA Players of the Year

Class A: Blake Birchfield, Pikeville.

Class 2A: Cutter Boley, Lexington Christian.

Class 3A: Cole Hodge, Christian Academy-Louisville.

Class 4A: Jonah Little, Letcher County Central.

Class 5A: Kenyon Goodin, Collins.

Class 6A: Travis Egan, Bullitt East.

KFCA Coaches of the Year

Class A: Chris McNamee, Pikeville.

Class 2A: LJ Harbison, Metcalfe County.

Class 3A: Zack Moore, Greenup County.

Class 4A: Tom Greer, Corbin.

Class 5A: Keith Eckloff, Seneca.

Class 6A: Adrian Morton, Ballard.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *